Awards 2024

Awards 2024

Awards Gala / AGM / Members Day

Friday 12th July 2024 – The Rydges Hotel in Christchurch

A free event for Groundspread NZ members! 

Never has there been a more important time to discuss the issues/opportunities impacting our industry.

This members day is an opportunity to come together in winter, as is our tradition, and discuss important issues impacting us all. Our AGM will be held in the afternoon from 3.30pm – 5.00pm, followed by our annual awards gala (agenda below).

To access your special accommodation rates please visit

  1. Select your hotel (Latimer Chch), enter your dates and number of people and click ‘GO
  2. Click ‘I have a code’
  3. In the ‘Corporate ID’ field enter your booking code: GSNZAG
  4. Click ‘UPDATE’
  5. Your special rates will appear on the rates screen
  6. Valid for stays 11/07/24 – 13/07/24

The Awards

In 2019 the Groundspread NZ (NZGFA) introduced four awards to its annual conference programme. The awards seek to recognise and commend individuals or associate organisations who have made a significant and positive contribution to the ground spreading industry. They also serve to reflect the level of professionalism, responsibility and innovation that exists across the ground spreading profession, and within the Association.

Nominations for the 2024 Awards will open on Monday 4th March 2024. Nominations can be made by emailing the Executive Officer at or 027 214 1790, no forms to fill in, just let us know who you would like to nominate and for what award and we will take it from there, it has never been easier to celebrate success!

Please ensure you read the terms & conditions and refer to the criteria for each award, by clicking on the award links

The Ballance Agri-Nutrients President’s Award

This award will be presented to a Groundspread NZ member who has been a positive supporter of the Association during the past three years, they impart their knowledge to others in the industry, and their contribution has helped groundspreaders in one of the following areas – business, economic, environmental, or social. Nominees should be Spreadmark registered in this category please.

Previous winners: Gordon Dobbs (2019), Grant Anderson (2020), John Whitehead (2021), Tina Powell (2022), Stephen Whitehead (2023).

Proudly Sponsored by Ballance Agri-Nutrients

Ballance is a New Zealand farmer-owned co-operative that helps its customers to farm more productively, profitably and sustainably. From its core business of fertiliser manufacturing, supply, sales, and advice, Ballance has grown to offer farmers a full range of science-backed nutrient products and services. This enables us to help farmers achieve soil and animal nutrition and productivity with a minimal environmental footprint. Ballance’s agri-nutrient advice is complemented by award-winning web-based farm systems software. With strong emphasis on quality and professionalism, Ballance is proud to be the sponsor of the prestigious President’s Award.

The Ravensdown Young Achiever’s Award

This award will be presented to a Groundspread NZ member who is under the age of 35 and is passionate about the groundspread industry (that they currently work in). They will show vision and passion and contribute positively to the industry and Association.

Previous winners: Adam White (2019), Matthew Blomfield (2020), Toby Evans (2021), Nigel Nunn (2022), Hayley Allen (2023).

Proudly Sponsored by Ravensdown

Ravensdown is a fertiliser co-operative. We manufacture and import quality agri-products for our shareholders. Ravensdown’s mission is to enable smarter farming for a better New Zealand. We are proud to support the Young Achiever’s Award. This award fits with Ravensdown’s philosophy of recognising the achievements of young people within agriculture. We already offer agri-scholarships and are delighted to grow our support of youth in agriculture by sponsoring this award. We believe that by rewarding excellence in this way, we can help ensure that the ground spreading industry continues to attract young talent.

The Graymont Health & Safety Award

This award will be presented to a Groundspread NZ member who demonstrates a commitment to health and safety in the industry and has made a significant contribution in this area during the past three years. This contribution will have benefited and improved health and safety outcomes for individual groundspreaders and/or the industry in general.

Previous winners: Nicola Goodwin (2019), Phil Johnson (2020), Nick Hyslop (2021), Kylie Stenton (2022), Grant Anderson (2023).

Proudly Sponsored by Graymont

Graymont is an emerging global leader in the supply of lime and limestone products. The company, which stretches back more than 65 years, is family owned and serves major markets throughout the world. Striving to be a world-class company necessitates achieving an outstanding level of performance in the crucial area of health and safety. We are continuing to develop and implement organisation-wide safety standards. These emphasise employee involvement through safety committees, internal safety audits, training, and certification, as well as strict adherence to safe work habits. Sponsorship of the Groundspread NZ Health & Safety Award aligns well with our commitment to continuous improvement to health and safety – and our ultimate goal of achieving zero injuries and zero incidents.

The Keith Andrews Innovation Award

This award will be presented to a Groundspread NZ member who demonstrates a commitment to the exploration of technology and innovation in the groundspread industry during the past three years. They will have encountered an industry problem or issue and have been able to solve it with their innovation.

Previous winners: Ted Usmar (2019), Ron Smith (2020), John Whitehead (2021), Jon Jackson (2022), Shane Glassey (2023).

Proudly Sponsored by Keith Andrews

Keith Andrews, New Zealand’s largest commercial vehicle dealer, is an established Mercedes-Benz, Freightliner and FUSO specialist providing commercial vehicle sales and service from locations throughout the North Island. The company’s ethos centres on the principle that great people make great businesses, and Keith Andrews is proud to have a team of passionate individuals, who share a common approach to delivering excellent customer service. Keith Andrews proudly sponsors the Innovation Award to support and celebrate the classic Kiwi traits of ingenuity and creativity for the betterment of the Groundspread industry and community.

Nomination Process

  • Nominations for each award officially open on Monday 4th March 2024. Nominations can be made by any individual, company or organisation involved in or associated with the ground spreading industry.
  • To submit a nomination please email or phone call with the Executive Officer.
  • The nominator must read and understand the relevant award criteria and the terms and conditions before submitting the application form. 
  • Nominations will close on Friday 17th May 2024, to allow for nominations to be submitted and for the judging panel to consider the applications, confer and decide on three finalists (including one winner) for each category.
  • Finalists will be announced in July 2024. All finalists will be contacted and advised of their status.
  • All finalists will be recognised via various media channels and the winner of each award will be announced at an awards gala held at the annual conference.

The Sponsors