Groundspread NZ Branches

There are currently 7 Groundspread NZ branches around the country

Groundspread NZ is made up of seven fantastic branches around the country. Branches bring together the group of groundspread operators in your area who know the challenges and demands of your specific typography and region. They meet regularly for meetings, trainings, and events. You should contact your nearest branch for more information about becoming part of your local network, we are a very welcoming bunch and encourage all new members to give us a call.

For all general enquiries, please contact the Executive Officer on

Central Districts

Northland Branch

Covering the top of the North, this branch has a rich history and we would love to strengthen the network in this area. To do this, we need your support. Please enquire about becoming a member today.

Gordon Dobbs


jason williamson

Council Delegate

Waikato Branch

The Waikato Groundspread Fertiliser Association (WGFA) is an active branch of the NZ Groundspread Association regionally located in the Central North Island incorporating South Auckland/Franklin, Waikato/King Country, Bay Of Plenty and the Central Plateau.


  • is a trade organization. It was formed in 1956 to protect and promote the interests of the groundspread fertiliser spreading industry.
  • serves to protect and promote the interests of both individuals and companies involved in the groundspread fertiliser industry.
  • meet three months, creating an industry forum for members. The WGFA is led by a representative committee.

Gordon Dobbs

Waikato Chairperson

craig snodgrass

Waikato VP

Kylie Owen

Waikato Council Delegate

Taranaki Branch

Dave Geraghty

Taranaki Chairperson

Lee Cooper

Taranaki Secretary

Jessie Freer

Taranaki Council Delegate

Central Districts Branch

Central Districts covers the bottom of the north island, going as far up as Gisborne on the east coast. On the west coast, it covers Taihape, across to Ohakune. This includes all of Wairarapa, Manawatu and Wellington. Geographically it is a large area and we encourage new members within the catchment to join.

The president is Chris King. Our branch secretary is Heather Smith, and Howard Pedersen is our national council delegate.

Our meeting dates will be published as they are set. We usually have a meal and drinks after a branch meeting. We have a friendly, family orientated branch with all new members very welcome.

Howard Pedersen

Central Districts President

Simon pedersen

Central Districts Council Delegate

Heather Smith

Central Districts Secretary

Tracy Rose-Russell

Nelson/Marlborough Chairperson

Simon Gaul

Nelson/Marlborough Secretary

Jen Hall

Nelson/Marlborough Council Delegate

Canterbury Branch

Land of milk and honey

As the largest branch in New Zealand covering from Kaikoura to Oamaru and from the coast to the main divide, we cover a large portion of the most intensely farmed and heavily regulated farmland in New Zealand.

Our branch is very welcoming to any and everyone who wants to be part of the industry.  We have a young and progressive committee looking at ways in which to improve the industry and the services that our members receive.   If you would like to join us or come along to a meeting do not hesitate to get in touch with any of the numbers listed below.

For all general enquiries, please contact the Executive Officer on

Hamish Woolsey



Kane Freeman


Kylie Stenton

Council Delegate

Otago/Southland Branch

Situated at the bottom of the mainland and known as down South, the Branch has a strong following of 23 members, covering the Deep South from Bluff to Tuatapere to Queenstown, Wanaka to Ranfurly to Oamaru to Gore and back to Bluff.

A massive area and with some fantastic landscaping. Our Branch is focused on Great People, Great Communication and Driver Training.

We encourage anyone that has a passion for Groundspreading and the Industry to get in touch, come and join a meeting and get involved with a great bunch of people.

Do the Job Right!! Do the Job Safe and get home each night.

John Schultz

Otago/Southland Chairperson

Kylie Stenton

Otago/Southland Secretary

Stephen Whitehead

Otago/Southland Delegate and National VP

Upcoming Events:

WINTER DRIVER TRAINING 2023:  August 7th – 11th

In preparation for the upcoming season, we are looking to host a ‘Practical Spreader Driver’ workshop facilitated by Grant and Steve through HWR. 

This has been a widely received course with HWR putting their JV’s through over the last 2 years. Both the Canterbury and Nelson/Marlborough branches facilitated nearly 100 members this June. The feedback received was positive with newbies and old hands alike gaining something new as well as great industry discussion with their peers on the day. 

This course is for anyone involved in the Spreading industry! Driver, Dispatch and Owner alike. It’s important we ALL know the latest safe practices and work towards everyone coming home safely, every night!

The course will be $130pp and held at the *Pioneer Rugby Club in Gore from 9.30am – 3pm. 

If we have majority numbers closer to another area, we will look to change venues accordingly. The venue and lunch will be provided by the Otago/Southland Groundspread branch and the course cost will be charged to the companies direct from HWR.

Class numbers will be kept below 20 each day to encourage personal engagement throughout the day. 

Please contact Kylie at to register your interest.

An August Branch meeting will be held this week after a training day. As soon as I have numbers, we can look at which day suits the most people to attend. This will be a good opportunity to bring along someone from your company to show them what the Groundspread Association is all about. 


Tuesday 22nd August 2023

Gore (Southland) – Pioneer Clubrooms at 3.30 pm

November 17th 2023 – National Council attending and will have National meeting during the day (all members welcome)

Dunedin (Otago) – Venue TBC